top of page
  • Writer's pictureTinglyPig

Plans? What Plans? It's Summer! And Marvel's Doing What?!

Updated: Dec 27, 2019

For my students, summer is a time to be enjoyed. A time of playing with friends, enjoying the warm weather, and relaxing. The only things a kid has to schedule are play dates. As a teacher, I'd like to think the same rules should apply. I should be playing with my friends, enjoying the warm weather, and relaxing. I made plans to do that, BUT life happens. I've been working more on my "vacation" than I anticipated and I'd like to apologize for not having posted in so long. I had blogs in the works, but then various uncontrollable things happened in my life and the moment passed. Whatcha gonna do?


All I can say, is that the time I haven't spent streaming or blogging hasn't been totally wasted. I have very much been able to enjoy time with my family and my beautiful wife. We recently upgraded our back lawn by adding a fire pit and lighted gazebo. I've greatly enjoyed time walking my dog and listening to audio books (we are currently listening to Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix... for the third time). And I definitely enjoyed the week my wife and I spent in Florida (Disney World) at the beginning of July for our honeymoon. While I have had to spend time out of the streaming studio/office/game room, I have been able to make some updates to my channel, I've promoted the channel, and I've been able to work on some more impressions. I am very excited to bring those new updates to the Twitch during streams.


Since the last post, a lot has happened in the video game and movie world and I am EXCITED! Let's start by discussing the recent development with the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe). San Diego Comic Con just happened and Marvel came well prepared to unload some big announcements. From now until 2021 Marvel has planned some 15 new movies and mini series. FIFTEEN! If you haven't seen Spider-Man: Far From Home, make sure to check it out before it leaves theaters. It was a fantastic follow up movie to the very powerful and emotion Endgame film and a great way to wrap up Phase 3 of the MCU plan. Some of the new films and series will continue the stories, or be flashbacks, of characters we have already been introduced to. Dr. Strange will have his sequel in a film that is supposed to be Marvel's first "horror" movie, Thor will appear alongside Lady Thor in the forth film of that series, and we should be enlightened as to Black Widow's past from her time before joining the Earth's Mightiest Heroes.


Even though Netflix and Marvel cancelled their MCU shows (Luke Cage, Daredevil, etc.), Marvel/Disney has decided to start up some new streaming series as Disney launches its streaming service. WandaVision will tell the story of Wanda (Scarlet Witch) and Vision (obviously) presumably during their time in between the second Avenger's film and Endgame. Falcon and the Winter Soldier are going to kick some butt as a crime fighting duo in their own series as well. Some of the more surprising announcements at the Comic Con event though were about the upcoming movies and shows about characters we haven't been introduced to yet. The Eternals (for more information on this super group click here), a group of super powered humanoids created by the Celestials around the same time as Thanos' Deviants, will open up the universe even further. Blade will be returning to the big screen and exposing Marvel fans to the world of vampires once again. And there were also hints of the Fantastic Four and X-men making their way into the universe as well.


I wasn't at Comic Con to hear all this, but when I saw this information on the news it was like Thanos had snapped his fingers and my mind was blown. I am super excited to see what is to come for our favorite super heroes as well as the new ones joining the family. For more information on the San Diego Comic Con event and what was said by Marvel, click here.


I don't know how many of you get and play the free betas on the different platforms, but I tried Monster Hunter World: Iceborne when it became available to test. I had a very difficult time with the controls, it's vastly different than most games that I play, but I was very interested in the story and concept of the game. You can hunt this game down in September 2019. Closer to my playing style are the games NBA 2k20 which will feature Dwayne Wade and Anthony Davis on the cover, and Borderlands 3. Two of the soon-to-be-released games I am most excited for are Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order and Marvel's Ultimate Alliance 3. I played Marvel Ultimate Alliance when it first came out on the PS2 in 2006. I then played Ultimate Alliance 2 when that came out in 2009. Since this was when the MCU was just getting started, this game was incredible to me, because it brought all the biggest Marvel heroes and villains together. I've waited ten years to play another Ultimate Alliance game, and it is finally being released. The only down side, it's only available on Nintendo Switch. One of the only systems I don't have... yet.


The other game I am super excited for is the Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, because if I can't be a super hero, and I never got my letter to Hogwarts (or Ilvermorny) when I turned 11, then the next best thing is to become a jedi! I've watched all the Star Wars films, the television shows, and have played all the games so I am trembling with excitement (or from the force) over this new game.


I realize this is a lengthier post, but a lot has happened since the last one and I am attempting to combine a few that I had written before but are no longer entirely relevant. Be on the look out for more posts on here soon (I've got a few in the works at the moment as well as a short story about gaming), make sure to check out the Twitch channel for some streams with a great community, give a follow on Twitter and/or Instagram to stay up to date on blog releases and stream times (plus you'll get to see pictures of puppies). Be good to each other! Make a positive difference! And as always, keep on keepin' on.


Oh, by the way! Below are some pictures of what's been going on this past month. I've got a new mascot and some other REALLY amazing artwork (Thank you Mikhael22!). I've also got a picture of something I worked on for my classroom. It doesn't have anything to do with gaming, but it's nerdy and I like! Check them out!

2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page