top of page
  • Writer's pictureTinglyPig

Becoming a Legend: NBA 2k19

Updated: Dec 27, 2019

Happy New Year! It is officially 2019! It's January 3rd and even though we have already used up three days of the new year, we still have 362 days of opportunities left. That's 8,688 hours to learn a new skills, 521,280 minutes to make life changing decisions (i.e. healthier lifestyle), and 31,276,800 seconds to help those around us. It also means that we have more time to become NBA superstars on 2k's NBA 2k19!


Despite the game being released in September 2018, I only just purchased and started playing the game. Just as with is predecessors, NBA 2k19 allows gamers to create their own player in the MyCareer mode of the game. Players are able to fully customize their athletes first by getting the proper look for their avatar. As with other games that allow you to build your own avatar, 2k19 gives players control of customizing many features that truly make the players unique to each individual. While I did change a few features on my athlete, I did not mess around too much with the full customization settings but instead only slightly altered the pre-made faces. As much as I enjoy creating avatars that fit my personality and playing style, I was overwhelmed with the amount of customization options the game has to offer and wanted to hop on the hardwood to play some games in the league.


As an individual who has and uses the companion app for the game, I did try to use the face scanning feature found on the MyNBA2k19 app, but wasn't completely satisfied with the results. Since 2k first introduced the MyCareer story mode in NBA2k10, I have always created a character similar in appearance and this year's character was no different. With my flaming red hair and goatee, I was ready to take on the best players the NBA had to offer. The NBA 2k19 MyCareer Prelude is filled with many fantastic actors that make the characters within the story more dynamic, humorous, and relatable. The story begins at the NBA draft ceremony, where my athlete, nicknamed AI, fails to make it into the league. The story then takes us to Shanghai where we are honing our skills and getting a feel for the controls of the game while playing for the Shanghai Bears. After playing the NBA all stars in an international game, the league decides to bring me back to the states where I begin playing for the G League Mad Ants.


In a town full of corn fields and very little else, AI continues to try and impress the NBA scouts while making new friends, enemies, and struggling with the difficulties of "trying to make it." After losing a media manager, love interest, and his position on the Mad Ants G League team, all hope seems lost until AI is given one more chance. Basically as long as I don't blow the game, AI becomes an NBA player.


Having won the game, it becomes official, AI has been selected to be an NBA player. My next step was selecting which team to join. Originally I was hoping to be on the Celtics, because I am from New England and they've always been a favorite team of mine, but they're interest was low for a player in the small forward position. The choice then was between the LA Lakers and the Chicago Bulls. This was a no brainer though, as I decided to make my mark on the NBA by becoming the next Michael Jordan as a member of the Chicago Bulls.


The 2k series has yet again created another sports game that has phenomenal life-like graphics, realistic basketball moves, and well created modes that lead to a high replay rate. Even though I am easily frustrated by the shots I miss but think should go in, NBA 2k19 is a fantastic game that I look forward to continuing with.



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page