top of page
  • Writer's pictureTinglyPig

What's Coming in 2020

One of my all time favorite video games for the Super Nintendo was easily Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time. Growing up, I was a huge fan of the young crime fighting mutants. I watched all their movies, the television show, had many of the action figures from the 80s and 90s, and even practiced my ninja skills on the trampoline. My skills never compared to the pizza loving turtles in real life, probably because I didn't have a giant rat teaching me the proper techniques, but when I grabbed my SNES controller and put in the Turtles in Time cartridge, I was THE hero in a half shell. At the start of the game, Leonardo, Donatello, Michelangelo, and Raphael are watching the TV when the Shredder comes on the air to taunt them. The turtles take to the streets of New York City in order to defeat some members of the Foot clan when they are suddenly transported through time. The turtles spin through the time warp and are eventually spit out into the future... the year 2020. It hasn't happened during the first two months of the year, but I'm holding out hope that at some point this year the Ninja Turtles will appear somewhere in New York and start kicking butt. Until then, what we can look forward to are the soon to be released video games for consoles, PC, and mobile devices.


Probably one of the most anticipated releases for gamers is Sony's Playstation 5 and Microsofts Xbox Series X. At the end of January, Sony announced that the Playstation 5 would be available for the 2020 holiday season and the Xbox Series X will be available sometime in 2020. Unless I win on my next Mega Ball ticket, I'll probably be waiting a while before I invest in a new system for myself. Regardless of whether you get it when it first comes out or later, it's exciting to see technology improving when it comes to video games and their consoles.


As for video games being released in 2020, there's going to be a lot of them. As I was doing my researching and compiling this list, I realized there are very few games with titles that I recognize. I am predominantly a console gamer, specifically the PS4, so while looking through my list I was searching for all the upcoming games for Sony's system. January did not consist of any games that I was particularly interested in, namely because I have never heard of them and therefore haven't experienced any hype towards them. At some point I'm sure I'll try some if not all of the games that came out in January 2020, but there was nothing I was eagerly waiting for. February, March, and April are equally dull months for me but May is when things get interesting.


I'll have to go back through and play my remastered version of The Last of Us, because in May 2020 The Last of Us II will be released. That's a game that I have heard people hype over and it gets me excited. As of right now the summer is looking like a dead zone when it comes to new games being released. There are a lot of games scheduled to be released this year, but do not have specific dates set yet so those might be coming out during the summer months. Once school starts again in the Fall, there are two games coming out in September that have me particularly hyped. On September 4 Marvel's Avengers is set to be released and then on September 17, Cyberpunk 2077 will be hitting the shelves. I'm one of those nerds who loves super heroes, especially Marvel. I was a huge fan when Ultimate Alliance and Ultimate Alliance 2 were released for the Playstation 2 and this new Marvel game has me hyped up to a whole other level. I'm sure some of my excitement is due to my love for the films in the MCU, but either way I'm looking forward to this release.


Below is a list of the rest of the games set to be released in 2020 that already have predetermined release dates scheduled. There's a very large list of video games that have yet to be assigned a release date, so if you want to find out what else should be available in 2020 i recommended looking that up next chance you get.


January



February



March



April



May



June




September



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page