top of page
  • Writer's pictureTinglyPig

Tingly's Top Ten: Games of the Decade

Updated: Sep 13, 2021

As the year has officially come to a close, gamers all over the world have created their own Top Ten list of their top ten games of the decade. With a lot of research, great pondering, and inner turmoil (it was hard cutting some games off my final draft) I have created my own Top Ten of the decade. Mr. and Mrs. DJBigGuns have also added their Top Ten lists which you can view below. With that said, let's get into it.


While creating my list, I compared my notes to what others have created. Collectively it seems as though gamers are adding games to their lists based on: enjoyability, game quality (i.e. graphics and soundtracks), and replay value. As I discuss each game on my list, I'll make reference to each of those criteria. Please keep in mind that this list is composed of MY top ten. This past decade has put out tons of great titles but these are MY favorite of the decade. Don't be upset if your favorite game isn't on my list or if you don't see a critically acclaimed game at the top. These are my thoughts, my feelings, and my rules. Also, the order that I put these games into the list does not matter. Whatever is listed first might not be my favorite game of the decade, it just happens to be the first one that I put on the list. There are many games that probably would have been high-ranking contenders for this list but I, unfortunately, and regretfully, did not get the chance to play them. Some of those games include Uncharted 4, God of War, The last of Us (I never finished the playthrough), Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Mario Odyssey, Horizon Zero Dawn, and Shadows of Mordor. Before I officially reveal my Top Ten, below are some honorable mentions that made it into my top 20 but, for one reason or another, got cut.


Honorable Mentions

  • Overwatch (2016) - A great multiplayer game that is especially fun to play with friends or others with a mic. The uniqueness of each character makes the multiplayer madness extra fun.

  • Rocket League (2015) - While I still can't say I've completely gotten the hang of the game or am a high scorer, I do enjoy playing Rocket league with the Gang. For whatever reason, I've had a difficult time mastering the controls, especially on offense, so I tend to play with a defensive strategy.

  • Borderlands 3 (2019) - The combination of online and couch co-op makes this game super fun to play. The humor, weapons, and characters are unique to this game series and the visuals set it apart from anything else. The other games in the series are wonderful as well, but Borderlands 3 has bigger and badder weapons, enemies, and jokes. Plus the added movement features and skill trees make it, in my opinion, the best one yet.

  • Destiny (2014) - This massively multiplayer online game introduced us to a galaxy full of adventure. This game is great when played solo or with a team and the powers and abilities each player can customize and control make it a wonderful game to play again and again.

  • Super Mario World 3D (2013) - If you had a Nintendo 64 and played Super Mario 64 then this game was like a blast from the past. It brought new graphics with the play style of a Nintendo classic.

  • Super Smash Bros. for Wii U (2014) - It was very difficult to take this off the final list because the Smash Bros. series holds a special place in my heart. The Wii U version of Super Smash Bros added some new characters and new maps that fit in well with the classic controls, rules, and play style of the series.

  • Mario Party: The Top 100 (2017) - If you're a fan of the Mario Party series, you obviously enjoyed the mini-games that you and your competitors would play after each player moved along the board. This game was full of the best mini-games the series had to offer.

  • Battlefield 1 (2016) - The Battlefield series has produced great games, but BF1 is my favorite. With the ability to form a squad, the Gang and I would make our way throughout the map fulfilling the roles we had assigned ourselves. Med packs, ammo drops, sniper spots, and reckless assault attacks were effective for our group's success.

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops II (2012) - The first time I played a Call of Duty game was when I went to my cousin's house for the weekend. Black Ops II had just been released and my cousin was super pumped to play the zombie mode and multiplayer. I got to his house and we essentially shut ourselves in his room for the weekend as we slaughtered the undead and got destroyed in multiplayer. Since then I have played each Call of Duty game and I attribute my liking for the series to Call of Duty: Black Ops II.

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 (2018) - With all the hype surrounding battle royale games, I think Black Ops 4 did a great job holding its own. It blended the battle royale free-for-all style with its traditional Call of Duty movements, weaponry, and visuals. The multiplayer was great (when you didn't get stuck in around with a group of try-hards) and the addition of special skills and map size in the zombie mode made the game great to play solo and especially with friends.


Tingly's Top Ten: The List

  1. Grand Theft Auto V Online (2013) - Arguably one of the most popular games of the decade and definitely one of the most financially successful, GTA V has earned itself a place on my top ten list. I have spent many hours customizing cars, completing heists, and driving down the streets of Los Santos like a professional racer. One of the key features that make GTA V Online so enjoyable and appreciated is the fact that each update is free. Players who have GTA V can get online and enjoy each update for no cost. Because of this no-cost accessibility, people are willing to dish out real cash for virtual currency to purchase new cars, clothing, weapons, and/or real estate. Rockstar's dedication to releasing free and constant updates has earned loyalty from fans that keep them coming back to play and pay. GTA V online has reached legendary status as being more financially successful than any blockbuster movie, music album, or video game in history. As we reach the end of the decade, GTA V Online has earned over 6 billion dollars and continues to host 33. 8 million players from 224 countries. GTA V has achieved a level of legendary status unmatched by anything we've seen and its graphics and accessibility make it game players want to return to. I personally love joining up with my friends and trolling others with a character dressed as Shaggy as I cruise around in my tricked-out Mystery Machine. With that, GTA V Online earns a spot on my Top Ten list.

  2. Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (2010) - Traveling back to the beginning of the decade, I chose a game that made me want to become a force-wielding Jedi. If you've read any previous blogs or have seen any of my streams you'll know that I am a big fan of Star Wars. I've seen the movies and tv series, played the games, and have just started with the novels that tell of the expanded universe, but it was this game that truly made me wish for a lightsaber. The story the game tells was originally considered canon to Lucas' Skywalker storyline but, after merging with Disney, has become Star Wars legend. The game follows the clone of Darth Vader's infamous former apprentice as he deals with the constant pulls from both sides of the force. The Force Unleashed II, and its predecessor, introduced amazing force powers and lightsaber movements previously not seen in any other Star Wars game up to that point. The story was well written and connected well with what had already been established within the galaxy far far away. Plus the ability to customize the character's style and lightsaber was pretty sick.

  3. Marvel's Spider-Man (2018) - The third game that makes it onto my list is about a universe equally as famous as that of Star Wars. Spider-Man, the amazing web-slinging hero introduced to the world by Stan Lee and Marvel Comics in 1962, has appeared in almost 50 different video games since the 1980s. Marvel's Spider-Man is a graphically stunning game that beautifully captures Marvel's New York City. The parkour-like movements showcase the acrobatic skills we all know Spider-Man to have. Fight sequences are fantastic because of the fluid movement between aerial and ground attacks, flips, dodges, web shots, web swings, and all-around ass-kickery. One of my favorite things to do in the game is travel around snapping photos of the different landmarks that make up Marvel's New York City. It's great fun to flip through the air, stop and take a picture of the Empire State Building, then swing around the city for a few blocks and take another photo of Avenger's Tower, the Baxter Building, and Nelson and Murdock Attorneys at Law building. Multiple times I've climbed and wall run up the tallest buildings just to jump off and perform tricks as I fall back to the concrete jungle below. Another feature that tons of people have used fantastically is the photo mode which allows players to traverse the city, find a sweet spot, and take a photo of the view or the webhead himself via the selfie mode. Aside from the visuals and mechanics of the game, the story is fantastic and plays out more like a Marvel movie than a video game. It's one of those games that touches you on an emotional level and you feel better connected to the character(s) than ever before.

  4. NBA 2K13 (2012) - Since 1999, 2K has been releasing high-quality sports games. Those familiar with the series know when a game comes out that they'll have the chance to play as their favorite team(s) and players from the modern era or from historic teams. They'll also be able to create their own avatar and live out their NBA fantasy through him. Each year gamers and NBA players have marveled at the lifelike quality in-game characters have compared to their real-life counterparts. Aside from controlling historic teams and playing as my favorite modern-day players, I absolutely love the MyCareer mode. Even though I have the body of a thick, slow guard in real life, I always create a SF/PF dominant in the paint and snipe you from the perimeter powerhouse type player. I prefer a body size that allows me to be a star both offensively and defensively. In my opinion, NBA2K13 is the game that gave me the best opportunity to live that dream. As each new game in the series increases the graphic quality, I am always impressed and eager to play, but 2K13 is my favorite game in the series. The controls were the easiest for me to master and I was able to consistently post triple-doubles with points at 60+ per game. I, like a lot of other gamers, appreciate the more realistic nature of the newer games, but my off-the-charts stats of my 2K13 player is where it's at.

  5. Star Wars Battlefront (2015) - When my family surprised me with a PS4 on Christmas in 2015, I was beyond excited. When I unwrapped my first PS4 game and saw that it was Star Wars Battlefront... yup. The first time I played a Star Wars Battlefront game was on my PS2. My sister and I would camp on Bespin and Kashyyk, sniping stormtroopers left and right. When we got tired of sniping, we'd switch to the classic Rebel soldier and go hard tossing thermal detonators at the Empire. Eventually, Star Wars Battlefront II came out (again on the PS2) and things changed. This time, we were able to take control of Jedi and lead our troops across the battlefield. Then Star Wars Battlefront (2015) brought things to a whole other level. Players could go against computer-controlled enemies on special missions or go head-to-head on multiplayer maps. The new game took features from its predecessors, such as the ability to control galactic heroes and villains but it introduced load-out customization. With my favorite load-out (bacta bomb or impact grenade, personal shield, jump pack, and DH-17 blaster pistol) I consistently placed top 3-5 each time I played a multiplayer game. I consider myself "good" at most games, but I am definitely above average at Star Wars Battlefront.

  6. Pokemon X and Y (2013) - Having been a kid when the first generation of Pokemon came out, it was difficult for me not to become a fan. My older cousin gave me my first Pokemon card (a holographic Blastoise) and his Pokemon Yellow and Blue Gameboy games. Since then, I've always had an interest in the little pocket monsters. The first Pokemon game I ever completed was Pokemon Blue. I chose Squirtle as my starting Pokemon, and with the guidance of one of my friends, quickly beat all the gym leaders and the Elite Four. That same friend owned a copy of Pokemon Yellow. His Pikachu was a machine and I would eventually become the proud owner of him. As the games continued to come out, my friend and I decided to preserve our Pokemon in case anything ever happened to our Gameboys or the games themselves. I used every Pokeball I had to capture starting-level Pokemon from the beginning of the game and traded them to my friend for all of his high-level Pokemon. Our goal was to put them all onto one game so we could have the ultimate roster and preserve our first team. As the years passed, my friend lost interest in Pokemon but I continued to transfer our Pokemon from one game to another. By the time Pokemon X and Y came out, I had amassed a team equaling almost every Pokemon available. Pokemon X and Y are fantastic games because of their graphics and story. The three-dimensional graphics have added immensely to the details of the Pokemon. Even though they aren't at the same caliber as Team Rocket, the Team Flare story adds a lot to the game. Some people had Pokemon Sun and Moon on their lists, but I thought those games had too many cut scenes that took forever to get through. I enjoy the stories that the games have, but in the end, all I want to do is catch and battle Pokemon. I feel like Pokemon X and Y did that but with the same stunning graphics (for a Pokemon game) that Sun and Moon provide. Out of all the Pokemon games to come out in the 2010s, these two are my favorite. The original teams that my friend and I had on our Gameboy games are still alive and well.

  7. New Super Mario Bros U (2012) - The first video game system that I ever owned was the Super Nintendo. I had most of the traditional games: Super Mario World, Donkey Kong Country, Super Metroid, and Super Mario All-Stars along with many others. I spent countless hours playing single-player games, multiplayer games with my sister and cousins, and attempting to beat the genius that is the Super Mario Bros. series. Despite all my practice, hard work, and dedication, I never did beat the Super Mario series on the Super Nintendo. My greatest enemy was the fact that Super Nintendos didn't have the greatest memory so, despite the fact that I would save my game if I didn't use it for even a couple of days, the saved file would disappear. When the Wii U released New Super Mario Bros, my sister and I were ecstatic. The thing that makes the Super Mario Bros games so fun is their simplicity. The original ones for the NES and SNES were challenging games but the concepts and goals were very simple. After watching a trailer for the New Super Mario Bros game, I knew things had gotten slightly more complicated because of new game features. I have four different save files for the game: one that my sister and I play together, one that I play solo, and two others that I have started with friends or cousins. Unlike the Super Mario Bros games for the NES and SNES, I can proudly say that I did beat the New Super Mario Bros U. My favorite things about the Super Mario games are the unique power-ups that the little red plumber can acquire. Super Mario Bros U utilized power-ups that fans of the series had seen in the past, but it also introduced us to a handful of new ones. When playing with teammates, power-up combinations allowed for a higher chance to collect sometimes unreachable coins and cool attack combinations that you normally wouldn't be able to do if you were playing alone. I think one of the best features, that allowed many players to finally be able to say they beat a Super Mario Game, was that players could go back and play previous worlds. Utilizing this ability, players were able to go back to levels that provided them with multiple 1 UPs. These little green mushrooms could then be farmed until the player reached 100 lives and then they could continue the game without worrying too much about losing all their lives. Some people viewed this as cheating, but others saw it as Nintendo encouraging players to play through their favorite levels whenever they wanted and earn the prizes over and over again. I will say that I used this farming method on one of my saves and beat the game using it. On my other saved file, I did not use the farming method and beat the game just on the lives that I earned after beating each level one time. Super Mario Bros U is just a great game to put in and play when you only have a few minutes to play (levels are usually pretty short since you're being timed), want to play with friends, or just want to relive a classic style game. The graphics are noticeably better than previous games in the series due to the advance in technology, but the audio and style of the characters are pretty much the same. If you are a fan of Mario games, especially the classics, then this is definitely a game that needs to be on your (re)play list.

  8. Mario Kart 8 (2014) - Mario Kart is another game that I was introduced to early on in my gaming career. I've played Super Mario Kart, Mario Kart 64 (I think this was my introduction to the series), Mario Kart: Super Circuit (Gameboy Advanced), Mario Kart: Double Dash!! (Gamecube and my personal favorite), Mario Kart DS, Mario Kart Wii, and Mario Kart 7, but Mario Kart 8 has some added features that make the game extra interesting to play. Mario Kart 8 is another game that you can play with friends on your couch, solo, or with people from around the globe via the online multiplayer feature. I like Mario Kart 8 because, like the others in the series, it has a high replay value. It doesn't matter if you're the best racer or the worst racer, there's something about taking control of one of the Mario characters, getting into tiny cars, and chucking bombs and banana peels at each other that just makes you want to come back for more. When the racing gets overwhelming like if you're trying to earn the trophy on the 150 cc and keep losing the final race, you can switch things up and play a battle mode game. These are fun too, especially when you are playing with friends. Mario Kart 8 also adds in the features of airborne racing, underwater racing, and antigravity racing. These added racing styles, along with a slew of new characters, just make the game so much more fun. Another great feature of Mario Kart 8 is the fact that you can customize different features of your car. Traditionally players have only been able to select what type of vehicle they would like to use when they entered a race, now players are allowed to customize the style of the vehicle (frame), tires, and glider. Each of these customizations seems to be cosmetic but they also affect the speed, acceleration, handle, weight, and traction of the vehicle, which very well could be the difference between first and last place. When comparing this game to other games in the decade, it has one of the highest replay values. Even my students love it. Since we live in Maine, we have multiple days during the wintertime when it is too cold or too icy for students to go out to the playground. During these "inside" recesses, my students and I will participate in a Mario Kart tournament. We can only play during inside recesses, everyone has a couple of practice rounds, then we get into the tournament. In the end, the winner receives a prize (I cannot be the winner). It's a lot of fun and gives the students something to look forward to when they aren't allowed to go outside to enjoy their daily break.

  9. Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order (2019) - Even though this game came out just a few months ago (November 2019), it almost instantly made its way to my top ten of the decade. Regardless of the fact that this is a Star Wars game, the game just plays well. The graphics are stunning, the fighting mechanics and movements are graceful much like its martial arts inspiration, the characters are relatable and comical, and the soundtrack is phenomenal. We all know John William's theme for Star Wars, the song of the Empire, and the Cantina song, but the soundtrack that we hear in Fallen Order adds a new element to the Star Wars universe. Take this: when the game first starts, we hear some alien music playing. As it turns out, Cal (the main character), has on a pair of headphones and is listening to a band play. I'm sure most people never gave much thought to what other bands might be out there playing their music besides the Tatooine Cantina band. The music adds just as much to the game as it does to what fans know and relate to the Star Wars universe as a whole. Another thing that I love about Fallen Order is how it plays like a mash-up of favorite games. The looting is similar to that of a Borderlands game, the climbing and banter between characters are comparable to the Uncharted series, the fighting style is very similar to Dark Souls, and the puzzles that we have to solve, usually using the force, is like any other great adventure game (Zelda, Super Metroid, etc.). As far as a video game goes, Star Wars: Jedi Fallen order is a fantastic game that is great on the first playthrough and will be just as good on the second and third playthrough as well. As a Star Wars game, it plays out just like a movie. It brings the traditional Star Wars feel, takes in different pieces from the canon and legends, and then smashes it all together in a fantastic story that you don't want to end. I beat the game on New Year's Eve and am very happy to say that (without giving away any spoilers) the game leaves you wanting more (in a good way, like you don't want to put the controller down) and ends the story in a way that promises more in the series. With all the hype surrounding the new Star Wars film, Disney +'s Mandalorian show, Baby Yoda, and the upcoming season 7 of Star Wars the Clone Wars, this game had a lot to live up to and it crushed it.

  10. Disney Heroes (2018) - This game is different than any other game on my Top Ten List mostly because it's a mobile game. I stumbled on this game by accident when I was with my wife and sister at Disney World in Florida. I was looking for an app that allows you to interact with attractions at the parks when I saw this game. As soon as I started playing, I found it super interesting. The game takes place within a video game and pits famous Disney characters against computer viruses and corrupted (infected) Disney characters. As a Disney fan, I enjoy the characters and story. As a gamer, I find it both hilarious and awesome to see those heroes duking it out. It's one of those games that you open when you're bored but one that you'll keep opening to upgrade your characters and level up your team.


As promised, Mr. and Mrs. DJBigGuns have provided their Top Ten List for Games of the Decade. That can be viewed in the photo below.





3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page